The first fortress of Parnay dates back to the Middle Ages, in the 10th and 11th centuries. At the end of the 15th century, the property and the castle belong to Jehan du Plessis, the future King of Naples who was also Duke of Anjou (1434-1480). The halls in the court of the castle date back to this time. In 1794, the castle of Parnay was attacked and burned by the Republicans and is also the witness of the massacre of 112 young royalists sentenced by the revolutionary committee of Saumur, and executed in front of the castle and buried, on the spot in a communal grave. In 1820, the new castle at Parnay, in true renaissance style, was constructed. The property was purchased in 1887 by Antoine Cristal who was the inventor of many ground breaking viticultural techniques. In December 2006, the property is purchased by Mathias Levron and Regis Vincenot who resume the exploitation of the vines of Parnay perpetuating all the quality and traditions of the castle. Situated at the heart of the best terroirs of the Saumur-Champigny region, is the famous “Clos d’Entre les Murs” vineyard. Built around 1900 by Antoine Cristal, this walled vineyard is truly one of the most unique in the world. Parnay will be the future home of a 5 star hotel on the property aiming its sites at being on of the most exquisite wine resorts in all of France.